Participants in the Flood Strategy

The Lower Mainland Flood Management Strategy is a collaborative initiative that receives financial and in-kind support of governments with responsibilities for flood management and other entities in the region.

Thanks to all who have represented their organizations in Phase 1 (2014-2016), Phase 2 (2016-2020), or both, in different ways: as funding partners, as participants in the Joint Program Committee for Integrated Flood Hazard Management, or as members of the Flood Strategy Leadership Committee.

Federal and Provincial Governments

Government of Canada 

  • Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation
  • Indigenous Services Canada 
  • Natural Resources Canada
  • Public Safety Canada
  • Public Works and Government Services Canada

Province of British Columbia

  • BC Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General
    (Emergency Management BC)
  • BC Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations & Rural Development
  • BC Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure
  • BC Ministry of Environment & Climate Change Strategy
  • BC Ministry of Agriculture

Local Governments 

  • City of Abbotsford
  • Village of Belcarra
  • Bowen Island Municipality
  • City of Burnaby
  • City of Chilliwack
  • City of Coquitlam
  • Corporation of Delta
  • Fraser Valley Regional District
  • Village of Harrison Hot Springs
  • District of Hope
  • District of Kent
  • City of Langley
  • Township of Langley
  • Village of Lions Bay
  • Lower Mainland Local Government Association
  • City of Maple Ridge
  • District of Mission
  • City of New Westminster
  • North Shore Emergency Management
  • City of North Vancouver
  • District of North Vancouver
  • City of Pitt Meadows
  • City of Port Coquitlam
  • City of Port Moody
  • City of Richmond
  • District of Squamish
  • City of Surrey
  • Union of BC Municipalities
  • City of Vancouver
  • Metro Vancouver
  • District of West Vancouver
  • City of White Rock

First Nations

  • First Nations Emergency Planning Secretariat
  • Lower Fraser Fisheries Alliance
  • Kwantlen First Nation
  • People of the River Referrals Office
  • Semiahmoo First Nation
  • Sto:lo Research and Resource Management Centre
  • Sto:lo Tribal Council
  • Sumas First Nation

Other Entities

  • BC Agriculture Council
  • BC Ferries
  • BC Real Estate Association
  • BC Wharf Operators Association
  • Canadian National Railway
  • Canadian Pacific Railway
  • Fraser Health
  • Fortis BC
  • Greater Vancouver Gateway Council
  • Insurance Bureau of Canada
  • Pacific Institute for Climate Solutions*
  • Port of Vancouver
  • Raincoast Conservation Foundation 
  • Real Estate Foundation of BC*
  • Simon Fraser University (ACT)
  • TransLink
  • Trans Mountain*
  • University of BC (SCARP)
  • Urban Development Institute
  • Vancouver International Airport
  • West Coast Environmental Law


*Participating as funders only